Autoresponder – A program that automatically sends emails to the email addresses that have subscribed for a particular newsletter. Autoresponders can be used in both blogs and websites. Using an Autoresponder is a great way to get visitors to return to your website/blog, which will eventually help you to increase your sales. Read more about a free autoresponder @ Free Autoresponder
Keyword Density – Keyword Density is the total percentage a certain keyword or phrase has appeared on a webpage. A good keyword density should be between 3% - 4%. Too high keyword density will be regarded as spam by the search engines and a too low keyword density will not be effective.
It’s an important factor to maintain a proper keyword density to rank high in the search engine. Keyword density can also be calculated manually. But it’s easier to use a site that automatically calculates your keyword density. Here’s a site that I usually use for keyword density calculation.
Deep Link Ratio – It’s the percentage of links (both links from other sites and internal links) that point to all other pages of your website EXCEPT your homepage. A deep l40% - 60% can be called a good
Deep Link – Any link (internal or external) that points to any page on your website EXCEPT your homepage is called a deep link. Deep linking is a much quicker way of ranking high on the search engines instead of just building incoming links to your homepage which looks unnatural to the search engines.
Social Media Marketing – Social media marketing is the use of social networks (Facebook, Twitter etc), forums, wikis and other social sites for marketing. It’s a red hot method of driving traffic that’s overlooked by some. Watch the below video to fully understand the power of Social Media Marketing.
Viral Marketing – It’s a marketing technique that influence or induce visitors to pass a certain marketing message to other users and websites. The Feedjit Widget that is used by many bloggers to show a visitor details can be called a great viral marketing tool created by Feedjit. WidGadget is a site that lets you create your own widgets so you too can use viral marketing to effectively promote your content.
KEI (Keyword Effectivness Index) – Keyword Effectiveness Index is a way of measuring how effective a certain keyword or phrase is going to be for your website. The formula for calculating KEI is
KEI = (Number of Monthly Keyword Searches) ^ 2 / (Competing Pages)
Suppose you are targeting a keyword that is searched 1000 times per month on Google, and Google shows up 200,000 results when a user enters that particular term.
Then the KEI = 1000 * 1000 / 200,000 = 5
In some of the other websites you might find different formulas used to calculate KEI that gives different results but the above formula is a commonly used method to calculate KEI by SEO experts. It’s always safer to target keywords/phrases that have a fairly high KEI since it will be easier to get to the first page of the search engine with a keyword/phrase that has a high KEI.
CTR (Click Through Rate) – Percentage of visitors who click through to a merchants website. CTR is specially important when you are doing a Google Adwords Campaign. 2% - 4% CTR (Click Through Rate) is a good rate for a Google Adwords Campaign.
Cloaking – Cloaking is showing one set of content to the search engine spiders for indexing while showing another set of content to the users. It’s an SEO technique that has to be avoided since it can get your site banned by Google. 10 Actions That Will Ban Your Website In Google.
Contextual Links – If the anchor text that links from one page of your site to another page on your site is made up of a keyword or phrase that you want that particular page to rank for then its called a “Contextual Link”.
Example – Say you have 2 web pages on your site “A” and “B” and the keyword you want the page “B” to rank for in the search engines is “making money online”. Then if you are linking from A to B the anchor text should be “making money online”. This is an example of a contextual link. Contextual Linking is a great SEO technique to rapidly increase your search engine ranking.
CPA (Cost Per Action) – CPA is a method of advertising when you only pay for each sale or each lead etc, which is different to CPC (Cost Per Click) when you pay for every time a visitor clicks on your ad or banner regardless of a purchase by the customer.
CPC (Cost Per Click) – CPC is the amount you pay every time a user clicks on your ad. CPC differs depending on the website. And if you are using Google Adwords the CPC depends on the keyword you target. Making Money With Google Adwords
CPM (Cost Per 1000 Impressions) – This is the amount you pay for every 1000 impressions for your ad regardless of a purchase or a click by the customer. CPM can be a cost effective alternative for CPC.
EPC (Average Earnings Per 100 Clicks) – This is the value of the commissions by an affiliate for every 100 clicks. It’s a method of calculating the effectiveness of an affiliate by Commission Junction.
Bounce Rate - The bounce rate in email marketing refers to the number or the percentage (%) of emails that did not get delivered to the subscribers in the subscriber list. But bounce rate of a website has a different meaning. Bounce Rate of a website is the percentage of visitors that enter the site and leave the site without viewing another page. Read more about it @ Bounce Rate
Opt-Outs - Opt-Outs is a term used in list building. This is the number of subscribers that unsubscribed from your list.
Opened Rate - Opened rate is also a term used in list building. Opened rate is the number of times each email you have sent to your subscribers was viewed/opened by your subscribers.
Please link to us if you have found the information useful. Thanks.